All news

School of Management, IT & Governance‘s academic success through graduates

2013/06/21 04:37:48 PM

Responding to the College of Law and Management’s main strategic goal of increasing research out put the five doctoral degrees, one honorary doctorate degree were conferred upon graduates supervised by academics from the Discipline of Public Governance at the 2013 graduation ceremony.

SMITG academic success
Dr Thandi Dlamini, Dr Moonira Khan and Dr Moonilall Kooblal were supervised by Dr Pregala Pillay who has recently joined the University of Stellenbosch as an Associate Professor in the School of Public Leadership.

The title of Dr Dlamini’s thesis was “A model to manage staff turnover: A case-study of the Distribution Division at Eskom; Dr Khan’s thesis focused on “Student governance in Higher Education Institutions in the Western Cape, South Africa: A case study”; and Dr Kooblal’s thesis analysed “Poverty alleviation strategies in Phoenix, Mount Moriah and Mount Royal, KwaZulu-Natal: A community perspective”.

Dr Tebogo Malahlela’s thesis was titled “A study of land reform and its impact in the Greater Letaba Local Municipality of the Mopani District in the Limpopo Province”. His research work was supervised by Professor Betty Mubangizi.

“Implementing the National Curriculum Statement: A case study of FET History Educators in the Umlazi District, KwaZulu Natal” was the tittle of Dr Gengatharen Pillay’s thesis. His research work was supervised by supervised by Professor Yogi Penceliah who is the Academic Leader for the Discipline: Public Governance.

Mr. Carl Wright, who is the Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Local Government Forum based in the United Kingdom was awarded the Doctor of Administration, honoris causa for his commitment to democracy and international co-operation; defence of human and labour rights, and for the promotion of social and economic development, especially in the area of public administration and local government.

The Discipline also conferred 14 Masters Degrees, two of those were awarded to high-profile public practitioners namely, KwaZulu Natal MEC for Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Ms Nomusa Dube under the supervision of Professor Purshotamma Reddy and Dr Mogie Subban and Deputy Director-General, Department of Education, KwaZulu Natal, Ms Nomusa Judith Dlamini under the supervisor of Professor Yogi Penceliah.

Facebook Twitter DZone It! Digg It! StumbleUpon Technorati NewsVine Reddit Blinklist Add diigo bookmark

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved